Thorp Air Command - T18.net

Supporting Owners, Builders and Pilots of the Thorp T-18 and its variants.
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:42 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Wingnut
 Post subject: N587 T-18
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 12:29 pm 

So I am a newbie here so please bear with me. I am currently in the process of aquiring a T-18 # N587 in Bristol TN. I have not personally seen the aircraft but I have looked and lots of the pics and spoke with 2 of the former owners. They were happy with it but sold it for other reasons. This acft originally had a O-290 but now has a high time O-360 that still making good compression. I am going to be driving and taking the wings off and trailer it home for detailed inspections before flying it. I am a 30 year A/P, but mostly on heavy metal. Questions: Has a anyone had knowledge of this aircraft? I have searched for a wing removal thread but I don't see anything. I assume it's easy but any tips would be appreciated. What's the best way to transport the wings on a flatbed? I saw some wing stands in the forum but i'm wondering if there is something recommended for a trailer? Any advice on this new project is appreciated.

KMLI

Bill Williams
 Post subject: Re: N587 T-18
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 12:39 pm 
I transport the wing panels in a sling made from carpet. I wish I had a picture but don't. Remove the outer panels, the center section is held in place by two bolts through the center main spar and two bolts in the rear fuselage attach. Other than fuel lines, auto pilot and wiring that might have been added the center section should drop straight down, pick up the tail and walk it forward over the center section and load up.

leewwalton
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 12:47 pm 
Administrator
Administrator

here's the wing removal sequence;

1.) remove outer panels
- remove gap covers
- disconnect aileron control at horn (3/8 wrench -3 bolt)
- remove rear spar bolt (7/16 wrench -4 bolt)