Thorp Air Command - T18.net

Supporting Owners, Builders and Pilots of the Thorp T-18 and its variants.
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:48 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Brent Schultz
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 9:28 pm 

Hey Bruce,

We still love our 0-290GPU Thorp. It is a very fun airplane. We are know challenged to do more for old N6CM built in 1978 with no modifications since original build. My Brother, Partner Chris has some things we want to try to coax more speed out of her. Charlie Mike has 1,100 hours on her and we are thinking of an engine tear down and inspection and repair replacement of all out of tolerance parts. And then maybe some of engine mods discussed in the old newsletters.

N327SB
N6CM

KAJO

Profile Personal album  

flyingfool
PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2014 10:45 am 

Total newbie here but thought I'd throw in my 1 cent of thoughts.

1) first I would think you would want to do a BEFORE weight and balance. Aircraft are notorious to gain weight with age. (Much like its owners!- Opps, I resembal that remark!) Knowing the weight BEFORE you do anything I think is an important benchmark so that AFTER you do all your improvements, you will know what is what.

2) Engine mods are great so you may want to do some to hopefully get more power from it and hopefully also make it more reliable. I would caution you to never compromise reliability for max power. There is a balance point in there somewhere and everyone has to make their own decision where to stop the quest for power at the risk of reduced reliability/longevity.