Thorp Air Command - T18.net

Supporting Owners, Builders and Pilots of the Thorp T-18 and its variants.
It is currently Mon Oct 16, 2017 10:40 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
Bill Williams
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 6:39 pm 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 6:26 am
Posts: 729
Images: 0
Location: USA
try using a NAS 1202/1203 screw. and you might need what they call a metal stop nut which is smaller than a normal nut to get it on the screw in the corner. Very few T18's where built using a Hi-shear rivets,


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
Ryan Allen
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:37 pm 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 6:10 pm
Posts: 668
Images: 1
Location: Louisiana
Thank you Bill.


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
Rich Brazell
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 11:25 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 12:33 pm
Posts: 2751
Images: 64
Location: Jamul, CA (San Diego area)
Go to the old Forum and type in Shear Bolts . Bob gives a replacement for the shear bolts . I also put in my 25 cents worth stating you could use high lock bolts . ??? What Bill said would work also . The old Forum is a very valuable source for cooperate knowledge ! :o

RB O0


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
James Grahn
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:53 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 7:16 pm
Posts: 897
Images: 0
Location: USA
I have inspected several planes with nothing there. I don't recommend that. You might research AN 3 bolts.
Cubes


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
Ryan Allen
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 8:26 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 6:10 pm
Posts: 668
Images: 1
Location: Louisiana
I'm always learning something new on here. Thanks for the info.


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
Rich Brazell
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 11:25 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 12:33 pm
Posts: 2751
Images: 64
Location: Jamul, CA (San Diego area)
I've flown with a few pilots with "nothing there !" :o Somehow they still make Captain ? ???

RB O0


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
Ryan Allen
 Post subject: Panel fuse system
PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2017 1:13 pm 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 6:10 pm
Posts: 668
Images: 1
Location: Louisiana
So, here is my instrument panel fuse system for my project plane. I like the way it turned out. Much more compact than breakers. Still need to clean up the holes cut in the panel...

Attachment:
overall.jpeg
overall.jpeg [ 1020.88 KiB | Viewed 299 times ]


Attachment:
up close.jpeg
up close.jpeg [ 962.29 KiB | Viewed 299 times ]


Attachment:
backside.jpeg
backside.jpeg [ 799.22 KiB | Viewed 299 times ]


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
James Grahn
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:10 pm 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 7:16 pm
Posts: 897
Images: 0
Location: USA
That's neat.
Cubes


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
Rich Brazell
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:35 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 12:33 pm
Posts: 2751
Images: 64
Location: Jamul, CA (San Diego area)
Hard to tell from the pic , but are the fuses mini blade or full size ? ??? Where did you get the fuse block from ? :P

RB O0


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
Ryan Allen
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:45 pm 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 6:10 pm
Posts: 668
Images: 1
Location: Louisiana
They are full sized fuses, but they are the kind that light up once they are broken. I bought the fuse blocks from autozone. I had to open them up do something to the metal tabs inside the fuse blocks so that the fuse blocks would lay flush against the backside of the panel.....but its been several months since I did the fuse block surgery and I cant specifically recall what I did now as I type this. It wasn't difficult though.


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
Ryan Allen
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:28 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 6:10 pm
Posts: 668
Images: 1
Location: Louisiana
the more I think about it, I didnt modify the metal tabs, I had to take it apart in order to cut the plastic housing. You can see the cut marks in the photo of the backside of the panel.


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
Ryan Allen
PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 8:05 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 6:10 pm
Posts: 668
Images: 1
Location: Louisiana
Should I bolt on my wing center section before I cut my elevator push pull to to length? It seems like I should mount the center section in order to cut the correct length of push pull tube.....or should I just trust the length pf push/pull tube called out in the plans?


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
jrevens
PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 12:14 pm 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 663
Location: USA
Ryan Allen wrote:
Should I bolt on my wing center section before I cut my elevator push pull to to length? It seems like I should mount the center section in order to cut the correct length of push pull tube.....or should I just trust the length pf push/pull tube called out in the plans?


Hey Ryan,
I think that most build that assembly to the dimensions showm, with no problem. Never hurts to measure of course. I built mine a little differently, using a cone that I machined for the front fitting that’s threaded for a heavy-duty ball type rod-end bearing with a grease zerk, giving a limited amount of adjustment in length.

_________________
John Evens
Arvada, Colorado

T-18 N71JE
Kitfox 7 SS N27JE (building)


Top
 Profile  
 
James Grahn
PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:09 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 7:16 pm
Posts: 897
Images: 0
Location: USA
If everything is built to plans, it should work if cut to plans. As much trouble as that tube was to get, I think I would measure everything first. Remember that the ends are scalloped for the fittings.
Cubes


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
Rich Brazell
PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:40 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 12:33 pm
Posts: 2751
Images: 64
Location: Jamul, CA (San Diego area)
Cut twice , measure once . ???

RB O0


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron