Thorp Air Command - T18.net

Supporting Owners, Builders and Pilots of the Thorp T-18 and its variants.
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 1:32 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

flydr2
PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2015 2:40 pm 

Hi all,
I've just completed some arduino code for 4 cyl EGT/CHT gauges as well as codes for a 3 tank fuel gauge.

I've posted these as a start point for whoever wants to make their own. USE AT YOUR OWN RISK
You'll have to change/adjust the code to whatever your requirements are and test it before use.

I'm not a programmer just a pilot who does this as a hobby.
Hope this will be useful to someone...

I've attached the code and some pictures.

Cheers!

Attachment:
EGT_CHT.zip [2.42 KiB]
Downloaded 595 times

Attachment:
fuel.zip [2.47 KiB]
Downloaded 517 times

flydr2
PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2015 4:37 pm 

I've done it to my Thorp, servos installed on all trim tabs (AP not finished yet). I'll post instructions and pictures once I've finished and tested the AP.

I've got a few more projects on the go and don't have time to finish the code for the AP. The tricky part are the PID's but it's just time.

It includes it's own GPS which can be used for heading hold. Or use NMEA output from any source...
Altitude, gyro, accelerometer, compass from a GY-87 sensor.
A large part of the code is done but still lots to do.

Cheers!

edit: I was replying to someone but i think he deleted his post....

dickwolff
PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2015 5:15 pm 

Sorry... that was me.

I was saying that I want to experiment with using an RC flight stabilizer board driving a trim tab to act as a wing leveler/heading hold/gps tracker. The Fergilli PQ12 can take a servo signal from an Ardupilot or similar. All the PID is already built into these boards and many have gyros, gps, magnetometers, and baro sensors on them. If they can fly large quad copters, surely they can fly a T18.