Thorp Air Command - T18.net

Supporting Owners, Builders and Pilots of the Thorp T-18 and its variants.
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:21 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Jeff J
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 10:28 am 

I noticed an anti-servo tab on my aircraft had some slop in it and traced it to loose skin at the inboard end along with loose rivets in the hinge. Basically, the inboard rib is starting to "float" inside the tab. I ordered some parts from Cubes and started looking at what it is going to take to fix it but I have to admit, with 30 years of maintenance experience behind me, I am at a loss of how to do this properly. The inboard rib is a solid wedge which means the the rivets must be deliberately installed at an angle to the surface. I have rarely seen this done in a successful manner on assemblies even slightly miss-drilled from perpendicular to the surface. To get a good set on a squeeze rivet, the rivet must be hit square on one end and bucked square on the other. Even with back riveting the rivet needs to be hit square. This angle is large with no way to hit the rivet square without getting into the surface so I thought I would ask for some advice before I destroy some perfectly good parts.

Thanks,
Jeff

"The joke in aviation is, 'If you want to make a million, you'd better start with £10m.' " -Bruce Dickinson

Profile Personal album  

fytrplt
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 1:59 pm 

I tapped the holes and used screws, #4, I think.

KLAL

Profile Personal album  

fytrplt
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 2:02 pm 

Might have been #6s. Over thirty years ago. Also, insure the stainless strap service mod is complied with.

KLAL

Profile Personal album  

Jeff J
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 4:14 pm 

The strap is there. The two rivets holding it in place through the hinge are loose and contributing to the slop as well but that is an easy fix.