Thorp Air Command - T18.net

Supporting Owners, Builders and Pilots of the Thorp T-18 and its variants.
It is currently Wed Nov 21, 2018 4:09 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
jrevens
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 11:09 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 717
Location: USA
Exactly how high are the readings, Ryan? Have you tried jumpering the master solenoid yet? What position in the circuit is your shunt?

_________________
John Evens
Arvada, Colorado

T-18 N71JE (sold)
Kitfox 7 SS N27JE


Top
 Profile  
 
thorpdrvr
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 12:47 pm 
Jr. Member
Jr. Member

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 12:35 pm
Posts: 88
Images: 4
Location: USA
How high is the voltage on the Microair transponder?


Bernie Fried
N18XS


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
Ryan Allen
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2014 6:09 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 6:10 pm
Posts: 759
Images: 0
Location: Louisiana
I am embarrassed to admit that it was a loose connection behind my panel causing these voltage and amperage fluctuations. I checked my wiring twice before turning my attention to things like the alt, battery and regulator. I just missed it. I tightened the connection and flew for 2.5 hours yesterday. Volt and amps are perfect.

I appreciate the responses in helping me. I was really lost since I had thought I had determined my wiring was not the culprit.


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
James Grahn
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2014 1:29 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 7:16 pm
Posts: 1018
Images: 0
Location: USA
Glad it's fixed.


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
dan
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 1:32 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 9:30 am
Posts: 898
Images: 0
Location: USA
I got in the cockpit one morning, strapped on the airplane,slipped on my headset and cranked er up. Pushed the PTT to holler out that I was moving and there was nothing in the headset, zippo. I dinked with the radio and intercom for 5 min, nothin,zippo. Pulled the mixture, shut er down and started to crawl out when I noticed my head set wasn't plugged in........Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
mattst18
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 8:31 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 8:39 pm
Posts: 194
Images: 43
Location: USA
LOL. But it is nice when the "repair" is as easy as plugging in the head set!

_________________
Matt Smith
Des Moines, IA
55RC


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
jrevens
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 11:12 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 717
Location: USA
That's good news, Ryan! I think we've all been there. Easy to miss something like that.

_________________
John Evens
Arvada, Colorado

T-18 N71JE (sold)
Kitfox 7 SS N27JE


Top
 Profile  
 
jrevens
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 11:26 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 717
Location: USA
dan wrote:
I got in the cockpit one morning, strapped on the airplane,slipped on my headset and cranked er up. Pushed the PTT to holler out that I was moving and there was nothing in the headset, zippo. I dinked with the radio and intercom for 5 min, nothin,zippo. Pulled the mixture, shut er down and started to crawl out when I noticed my head set wasn't plugged in........Dan

I once flew clear across Michigan giving the guy who was on my wing hand signals because I thought his radio wasn't working. I thought it odd that there wasn't any other traffic on the radio. Finally, with the application of enormous brainpower, I determined that my volume was turned all the way down. :-[

_________________
John Evens
Arvada, Colorado

T-18 N71JE (sold)
Kitfox 7 SS N27JE


Top
 Profile  
 
fytrplt
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 1:32 pm 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 8:07 pm
Posts: 824
Images: 2
Location: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Been there, done that (as recent as today!)

_________________
Bob Highley
N711SH
SN 835
KLAL


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
Binder
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 12:32 pm 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2016 10:50 pm
Posts: 249
Ryan Allen wrote:
I am embarrassed to admit that it was a loose connection behind my panel causing these voltage and amperage fluctuations. I checked my wiring twice before turning my attention to things like the alt, battery and regulator. I just missed it. I tightened the connection and flew for 2.5 hours yesterday. Volt and amps are perfect.

I appreciate the responses in helping me. I was really lost since I had thought I had determined my wiring was not the culprit.



what was loose?

I'm having some high voltage issues and about to replace my regulator. It's an automotive alt (new last year) but an old automotive regulator. The voltage is steady but stays in the 15 v range with no change in amp draw unless I add additional load to the system.

Also, can you send me a message on how you wired your ammeter? I'm about to pull my panel to do some upgrades again and I'm going to fix my mistake in wiring my ammeter. Currently my gauge tips over to the Neg side when I start turning components on or the battery is charging just after start up. I think I need to flip a wire to the opposite terminal but wasn't able to reach it while the panel was installed. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
Ryan Allen
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 12:53 pm 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 6:10 pm
Posts: 759
Images: 0
Location: Louisiana
It was a loose connection where the fat wire feeds the buss bar. I used Bob Knuckolls Z-11 wiring diagram in his book "Aeroelectric Connection"


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
Binder
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 1:22 pm 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2016 10:50 pm
Posts: 249
Ryan Allen wrote:
It was a loose connection where the fat wire feeds the buss bar. I used Bob Knuckolls Z-11 wiring diagram in his book "Aeroelectric Connection"


ah, so the power connection to the bus. Not an issue I'm having so I think it's just my regulator failing causing my increased voltage.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

[ Time : 0.078s | 11 Queries | GZIP : On ]