Thorp Air Command - T18.net

Supporting Owners, Builders and Pilots of the Thorp T-18 and its variants.
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 7:03 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
Rich Brazell
 Post subject: I Fly 700 Gps
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 10:23 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 12:33 pm
Posts: 2774
Images: 64
Location: Jamul, CA (San Diego area)
I Fly 700 GPS on E-Bay. Starting bid $275.00, buy it now for $375.00. A good deal ! I have the unit and me very pleased with it. Very easy to use...even for a Navy pilot !

RB


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
Ryan Allen
 Post subject: Re: I Fly 700 Gps
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 9:02 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 6:10 pm
Posts: 675
Images: 0
Location: Louisiana
Rich
whats your experience with being able to see the screen in various sunlight situations?
Ryan


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
Rich Brazell
 Post subject: Re: I Fly 700 Gps
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 11:38 am 
Hero Member
Hero Member

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 12:33 pm
Posts: 2774
Images: 64
Location: Jamul, CA (San Diego area)
Ryan: I have had no real problems viewing the screen. If direct sunlight is allow to hit the screen there is some washout, but I think that is true with any of the GPS units. I bought the little velcro "sun shade" that fits over the unit to help block the sun and that seems to work. If you go to the I Fly 700 web site you can read the write ups for the unit and take a demo of the unit.

I am VERY happy with the unit. Touch Screen, $69 a year chart updates (including airport diagrams) with free unit software upgrades. VERY easy to use and customer support is great. The only downside is the unit does not have a built in battery. You can buy a small portable battery packs that lasts 3-4 hours ( I bought one just in case I have to shut down ships power. ) I hard wired it (12 volts and AP input) to my panel thru a Din plug on the dash. It also comes with a cig plug that you can use ( I also have a cig plug in my dash ).

RB


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
copterplt
 Post subject: Re: I Fly 700 Gps
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:07 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 12:38 am
Posts: 17
Location: USA
Just an up date on the I FLY GPS, I contacted the staff at their HQ and asked if they had terrain alerts. They are working on that as well as some other up grades that should come out in the next few months. I suspect that there trying to have those done by AIR VENTURE. Since I now use the lowrance 2000c and they have stopped supporting it I'm looking for a new unit but it must have terrain alerts as mother earth has too many lumps on the West coast and i've found out over the years that one can bump into her if there not alerted. paul


Top
 Profile  
 
Rich Brazell
 Post subject: Re: I Fly 700 Gps
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 1:29 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 12:33 pm
Posts: 2774
Images: 64
Location: Jamul, CA (San Diego area)
The I Fly uses actual Sectional and TCA charts. Just stay away from the Big Brown Lumps ! Cucamonga peak, Mt. Palomar, etc.

RB


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
dan
 Post subject: Re: I Fly 700 Gps
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 6:13 pm 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 9:30 am
Posts: 896
Images: 0
Location: USA
Hi Paul, there are updates avail still for the 2000c, check out the verbage on vans forum. I did find the support on a couple other sites but they have eluded me. From what I can gather it takes a bit to get the updates but they can be had. The 2000c with terrain awareness has a huge following, guess I will run mine till it quits. Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
Rich Brazell
 Post subject: Re: I Fly 700 Gps
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 11:27 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 12:33 pm
Posts: 2774
Images: 64
Location: Jamul, CA (San Diego area)
Just as we finished our discussion about the current IFly700 GPS (the one I have), I just got an update from IFly Corporate (they send me newsletter updates). They now have a "newer version" of the unit which is more sunlight readable and has a more sensitive touch screen, plus a faster processor...what a shock that is ! "We can rebuild him...make him faster and stronger. Remember the $6 million dollar man ! I no faster get off the throne and they have a better and faster unit ! :'( The newer unit is $200 more and you can trade in your "old" 700 unit for a credit. Hell ! I was just getting use to "old" unit ! :o No way to keep up with all the "new" stuff and still have a full wallet ! Saving all my change for the next KVIS fly in ! ^-^

RB


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
dickwolff
 Post subject: Re: I Fly 700 Gps
PostPosted: Sat Dec 14, 2013 4:09 pm 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:40 pm
Posts: 471
Images: 0
Location: Canada
Does anyone have experience with running a GPS antenna alongside shielded P-Leads? Intuitively, it doesn't seem like a good idea, but it would be really convenient for me. I've got an iFly700. It would be nice to run both through a conduit I installed over the tank.

Opinions?

D


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
Rich Brazell
 Post subject: Re: I Fly 700 Gps
PostPosted: Sat Dec 14, 2013 5:17 pm 
Hero Member
Hero Member

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 12:33 pm
Posts: 2774
Images: 64
Location: Jamul, CA (San Diego area)
Dick : Not sure why you need a GPS antenna for the 700 ? ??? I had the 700 and upgraded to the 720 and have never needed an antenna . ;) If I were to use an antenna for the 700 I would put it on the glare shield , suction cup on the windscreen or attach it to the aft deck .

RB O:-)

Higher and Faster


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
Ryan Allen
 Post subject: Re: I Fly 700 Gps
PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 7:36 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 6:10 pm
Posts: 675
Images: 0
Location: Louisiana
I have Rich's old IFLY 700. No antenna and it works every time. Just give it power. I have it sitting on my panel right above my throttle/mixture.


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
Fraser MacPhee
 Post subject: Re: I Fly 700 Gps
PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 9:44 am 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 8:57 am
Posts: 629
Images: 19
Location: USA
Rich....what in the arsa is a TCA?....?....:)

_________________
Fraser MacPhee
N926WM
Serial #279-1
Draper, UT


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
Jim Mantyla
 Post subject: Re: I Fly 700 Gps
PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 7:20 pm 
Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 6:57 pm
Posts: 169
Location: Barrie, Ontario,Canada
I have the 720 and it works flawlessly.t is bright enought to see in the direct sun light. The updates arw cheap and easy to install. No need for the external antenna.

Jim Mantyla


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: