Thorp T-18 Mutual Aid Society
Thorp T-18 Mutual Aid Society
Home | | Active Topics | ThorpList Format | Photo Album | View Photos by Member | File Library | Members | Member Map | Active Thorps Map | Search

NOTE: This site is no longer in use and is operating for reference only.
The Thorp community is now supported at the "Thorp Forum".

All Forums
 Other Stuff
 Interested in a Thorp?
 Whaddaya Think?
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

mnovotney

USA
0 Posts

Posted - 10/03/2010 :  09:57:34  Show Profile  Reply
Greetings,

I am a 29 year old gyroplane pilot w/ a fresh FW PPL. I have been flying for 6 years and 500+ hours in gyroplanes and 50 or so hours in FW including a couple in a Citabria (no TW endorsement). I want to purchase my own plane that can take my wife and I to see family around the Midwest and also just pleasure fly. I looked at RV's and similar higher performance taildraggers and want to know how much of a handful are the Thorps to transition in to? I fly a very high performance gyroplane and fly what can be considered aerobatics for the aircraft. We have the same hype in our community that says you can't fly a certain gyro or its not a beginner gyro and it all depends on your natural ability and most of the time it just means it takes a little more training to do.... My question are:

Is the Thorp too much of an airplane for your first plane? (I ask because i would rather not buy a slow docile dog of a plane to learn in knowing its not what I would like to fly)

How long is an expected transition training course for a Thorp owner?

BTW check out how us fling wings like to fly here:
(this is me and my previous and current machine) A real flying lawnchair!

and

Edited by - mnovotney on 10/03/2010 10:00:40

leewwalton

USA
1041 Posts

Posted - 10/04/2010 :  08:18:03  Show Profile  Send leewwalton a Yahoo! Message  Reply